Norman Hackerman Award In Chemical Research

The Welch Foundation announces that Drs. Neal M. Alto and Delia J. Milliron are the 2017 recipients of the Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research. Both researchers are being recognized as ‘rising stars,’ having contributed significant scientific discoveries at early stages of their careers. 2017 marks the first time in the 15 years of the Hackerman Award that two recipients have been honored. 

The Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research was established by the Foundation to honor Norman Hackerman, its Scientific Advisory Board chair from 1982 to 2006. The award recognizes the accomplishments of chemical scientists in Texas who are early in their careers. It is designed to encourage scientists who are embarking on careers dedicated to increasing our fundamental understanding of chemistry.

The Scientific Advisory Board will consider whether or not any nominee or nominees are worthy of the award, and will recommend to the Board of Directors not more than three nominees they determine are qualified to receive the award. The Board of Directors will make the final selection.

The award will normally be presented at a function on the campus of the recipient’s institution. The current monetary amount of the award is $100,000.

Please refer to the guidelines for eligibility requirements and nomination procedures.